Bendio Bank

Web Hosting kindly
provided by Good Barry

Welcome to Yarra Warra Pre-School
  Early Years Learning Framework

The new Early Years Learning Framework was endorsed on 2 July, 2009 by the Council of Australian Government (EYLF). The EYLF embraces three key elements of great importance to a child’s life:

  • Belonging: knowing where and with whom you belong is integral to human existence
  • Being: childhood is not solely a preparation for adulthood or for the future, recognizing the significance of the ‘here and now’ in children’s lives
  • Becoming: reflecting the process of rapid and significant change that occurs in the early years as young children learn and grow,” (Commonwealth of Australia, 2009)

The EYLF was then further developed to be inclusive of children 0-8 years by the State Government of Victoria and is known as the Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework. This framework embraces an integrated approach to learning and teaching ensuring that play is used to stimulate intellectual, physical, social and creative abilities. Teachers design programs that reflect five key learning outcomes:
  1. Identity: Children have a strong sense of identity
  2. Community: Children are connected with and contribute to their world
  3. Wellbeing: Children have a strong sense of wellbeing
  4. Learning: Children are confident and involved learners
  5. Communication: Children are effective communicators

It is believed these five learning outcomes are essential for assisting and developing children. This occurs naturally with ongoing collaboration between teachers, children and parents. Developmental milestones are monitored and naturally achieved through encouragement, role modeling, support and guidance from teachers. Experiences are presented though various areas and types of play with each area contributing to and fostering the growth of children’s development, interest and independence, considering that children learn and express their learning in many different ways.